jump to navigation

Whangarei (j) 22 February, 2005

Posted by Ian in New Zealand.
trackback

So we’re at the hospital for Rachel to do an interview sort of thing.

Backing up though…

She dropped me back at the Pickled Parrot and [I] headed into my room.  There were two girls and a guy.  They were all together & I chatted with the girls about the [Cape] tour [that] I’d just been on since they were looking the brochure.

I headed to the shower, but only remember to carry my towel.  I didn’t care, though – the water was plenty to clear the sand off.

Once I finished I headed to bed.

Before I continue, I should describe this place.

You walk [in] from the gravel car park into a garden coutryard.  Its about 20ft wide including the deck that 6ft by a good bit long – 50ft?  There was a fire being stoked by the owner, plus music from his radio.  When I first arrived there were tons of people about.

The owner gave me a tour, which must be standard to every hostel of course.  Next to the office was the phone, then the toilets/showers.  Then laundry, then the kitchen.  Breakfast was free from 7-9.  Internet was available.  Then 2 doors down was my room – “Kiwi House.”

It was hot on the top bunk even though I was down to my boxers and a thin sheet.

I made it to sleep eventually, but woke somewhere around what must have been 4am.  I guess I got in around 10.  I tossed and slept a bit.

Eventually I could see some light coming into the sky, so I got up & dressed.  I slipped out with my bag and headed to the beach.

Along the way I met a man and his two dogs.  The dogs were perfectly trained.  They stayed on the sidewalk until he checked the traffic and said “ok, cross now.”  They walked up the beach for sunrise – how cool is that??

It was on a bench at the beach that I wrote this morning.  I watched the sunrise over the Pacific Ocean.  All by myself on a beach in Piahia.  It wasn’t quite a tramping experience, but it was pretty cool.

I took a number of pictures of the sunrise, the tide coming in and people headed to their boats to start their days.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment